Iris’s ex-lover: what about the public money behind his business?

7 01 2010

What of this business Mrs Robinson urged people to invest in? In Iris’s statement, she said:

I encouraged friends to assist him (her lover) by providing financial support for a business venture.

I accept that. However there is further background to that side of the story – I understand money from the public purse has gone into helping to make this business a reality. As a result there is a strong public interest issue to pursue here.

Castlereagh Borough Council (supported by the EU Building Sustainable Prosperity Programme, administered by the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Investment) constructed the building which houses this young man’s business.

It is widely understood that Iris Robinson is an influential figure in Castlereagh council. And while I am not alleging impropriety, I have no doubt that the ratepayers of Castlereagh will want to be reassured that the process behind the divestment of their money was completely transparent. And I have no doubt that Castlereagh Borough Councillors will also want to reassure ratepayers that no one received any personal advantage / preferential treatment from public servants due to a relationship with Mrs Robinson.

I haven’t posted this to cause anxiety to anyone, the personal peccadilloes behind this affair are irrelevant. Were there no whiff of public moneys involved, I would not have posted this.  I feel that there is a strong public interest issue here which must be satisfied.

PS. I have no idea what’s in the Spotlight programme. So I don’t know if this is touched upon by the BBC.


Actions

Information

9 responses

7 01 2010
Chekov

Intriguing.

7 01 2010
7 01 2010
David Cochrane

The BBC were at the Lock Keepers today with television cameras.

7 01 2010
irishelectionliterature

It just gets stranger and stranger, Spotlight will have some audience this evening.

8 01 2010
bobballs

i had wondered whether spotlight might get hamstrung by injunctions etc. But IMHO that programme was authoritative and direct. No messing about. Incredible stuff really.

7 01 2010
Miranda

No Iris, the job description read “to serve” the constituents not “to service” them.

8 01 2010
Top Posts — WordPress.com

[…] Iris’s ex-lover: what about the public money behind his business? What of this business Mrs Robinson urged people to invest in? In Iris’s statement, she said: I encouraged friends […] […]

8 01 2010
julie james

Once Iris brought the wrath of the powerful so called Gay Lobby down on her,she and indeed her Husband The First Minister were finished. They started digging and came up with the goods.

8 01 2010
The Iris Robinson post: my first draft… « Bobballs!

[…] Iris Robinson post: my first draft… 8 01 2010 [The redacted version of this post is here. The below is my first […]

Leave a comment